How many regeneration stages does a starfish have?

1 Answer | Add Yours

payalkhullar's profile pic

Posted on

A starfish or Sea Star has the ability to regenerate or rebuild lost body parts. It can be formation of complete starfish from a lost limb or just the reformation of the lost limb itself. This process is called as regeneration, and may take up to several months or a year to complete.

Like most of the other organisms in which regeneration is possible, Starfish regenerates in three complex stages. These are:

1. Repair Stage: In this stage, the body repairs and heals the exposed, wounded area to prevent the risk of infection. Usually cell debris collects at the site.

2. Regeneration Stage: This is the stage where new body cells form and, hence, regeneration of lost parts is visible. A basic structure is evident after this.

3. Advanced Regeneration Stage: This is the final stage in which the body cells start to proliferate. Growth factors are released to control this mechanism. 


We’ve answered 324,561 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question