Homework Help

Is there gluten in licorice root?

user profile pic

mabmiller | eNotes Newbie

Posted September 28, 2008 at 5:38 AM via web

dislike 0 like

Is there gluten in licorice root?

Tagged with gluten licorice, science

3 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

missnasiha | High School Teacher | eNotes Newbie

Posted November 1, 2008 at 10:50 AM (Answer #1)

dislike 0 like

Licorice root does not contain any gluten. If you are interested in licorice candy, however, many of those are wheat-based. Wheat does contain gluten.

user profile pic

alohastine | Elementary School Teacher | Valedictorian

Posted February 16, 2012 at 11:12 AM (Answer #2)

dislike 0 like

There is no gluten in Licorice root. Many of the candies do contain gluten. There are gluten free Molasses Licorice candies that do not contain gluten. You can find these on health food sites and Celiac shopping sites.

 

user profile pic

sciencesolve | Teacher | (Level 3) Educator Emeritus

Posted April 17, 2012 at 10:27 AM (Answer #3)

dislike 0 like

The most recognized part of licorice is its root that contains an anti-inflammatory sweet tasting agent called glycyrrhizic acid.

The presence of gluten in content of licorice candies depends on the receipe used to produce licorice candies, hence if you use the cornstarch receipe, the final product does consist of gluten, among the other components.

Notice that the pure extract of licorice does not contain gluten.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes