Homework Help

BULLYING (please give your opinions)What is causing bullying? What is being done for it?

user profile pic

stsf | Student, Grade 11 | eNoter

Posted November 22, 2010 at 7:39 PM via web

dislike 1 like
BULLYING (please give your opinions)

What is causing bullying?

What is being done for it?

7 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted November 22, 2010 at 8:52 PM (Answer #2)

dislike 0 like

I think that bullying is caused by two things:

First, I think it is caused by a lack of empathy for others.  They think that only their own feelings are important.

Second, I think that it is caused by a somewhat natural human tendency to dislike people who are in some way different than us.  We pick out things we think are important (what clothes you wear, how you act) and persecute those who do not have those things.

So I think it's an innate human tendency to dislike different people added to self-centeredness that causes bullying.

user profile pic

fumioueda | High School Teacher | (Level 2) Adjunct Educator

Posted November 22, 2010 at 9:25 PM (Answer #3)

dislike 0 like

Especially when I was living in Japan for my childhood, it was a serious problem at schools. The leadership didn't really do anything and expected it to go away or just take care of itself. It takes a school effort to confront it and deal with the negative effects from it and it requires constant monitoring and follow-up.

user profile pic

lrwilliams | College Teacher | (Level 3) Associate Educator

Posted November 24, 2010 at 9:04 AM (Answer #4)

dislike 0 like

I am not sure of the cause of bullying, it seems to come from some need to try and prove to someone else that your are better than they are. As far as what is being done about it, I think that one thing is awareness that it happens and then addressing it as soon as you become aware of it.

user profile pic

ask996 | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Senior Educator

Posted November 30, 2010 at 1:55 PM (Answer #5)

dislike 0 like

Bullies are frequently motivated by feelings of frustrations and negativity. They don't like other people, and they feel as if others don't like them. They lash out in an attempt to hurt the other and in doing so assuage the feelings of negativity and powerless ness in themselves.

Both the American Psychological Association and Enotes have some more information.

http://www.apa.org/news/press/releases/2010/07/bully-victim.aspx

 

 

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullying

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullies

user profile pic

litteacher8 | Middle School Teacher | (Level 1) Distinguished Educator

Posted February 21, 2011 at 3:56 PM (Answer #6)

dislike 0 like

I agree that bullies are a problem and no one really does much about them.  Too often, schools and parents just consider bully behavior a part of growing up.  This is not true.  If we ignore cruel behavior, we are accepting it.  Children have to be taught tolerance for one another, and adults have to address bullying from both ends: teaching bullies how to behave toward others, and teaching the bullied how to react.

user profile pic

mirmirnotez | Student | Honors

Posted November 6, 2012 at 8:04 PM (Answer #7)

dislike 0 like

Most people who bully others tend to have secret problems of their own. That is why they pick on other kids. Bullying is unfair, unjust, and not kind. Bullying is bringing others down. There are quite a few types of bullying. Cyberbullying is becoming worse with many kids and teens using laptops, iPads, phones, iPods, and other devices to bring others down virtually. To learn more about bullying and ways to prevent it, visit www.bethebiggerbeing.blogspot.com.

user profile pic

acompanioninthetardis | TA , Undergraduate | Valedictorian

Posted May 28, 2014 at 9:11 PM (Answer #8)

dislike 0 like

the surge of bullying has been caused, in my opinion, by parenting failures in most cases. bullies are people who make fun of others or harass others constantly. i feel like parents have stopped teaching kids to be accepting of all kinds of people and to help people in needs. most kids whoa re bullies often do it to feel powerful as well, so if more parents taught kids to deal with their emotions of wanting to have more friends or being popular, they wouldent be so power hungry and wouldn't pick on other kids to maintain that power. 

as far as whats being done for it, i honestly don't see anything. the only thing i see are some campaigns to stop bullying but some kids don't even know what the terms mean. Alot of schools tell them not to bully, but then when a kid gets bullied and goes to a teacher, they cant really do anything effective about it and simply give detention or suspension to the kid which does not help in the longterm.

Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes