In Buddhism, the way to end suffering and desire is to followA.the Four Noble Truths.B.the Eightfold Path.C.the Royal Road.D.the Vedas.  

2 Answers | Add Yours

billdelaney's profile pic

William Delaney | (Level 2) Distinguished Educator

Posted on

The correct answer to your question is "B," the Eightfold Path. To answer "A," the Four Noble Truths would be partially correct because these explain the reason given by the Buddha for following the Eightfold Path. The Four Noble Truths state that life is filled with suffering, that suffering is caused by a craving for worldly things, that suffering will stop when one learns to suppress desire, and finally that the way to suppress desire is by following the Eightfold Path.

The eight steps on the Eightfold Path are Right View, Right Thought, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Vocation, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, and Right Concentration.

The Right View would involve understanding the Four Noble Truths, especially the truth that suffering is caused by desire.


user1450001's profile pic

user1450001 | Student, Undergraduate | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted on

Yes, very true ! The search for a spiritual path is born out of suffering. It does not start with lights and ecstasy, but with the struggle of pain, disappointment, and confusion. The four nobel truth are the foundation  :

1) The truth of suffering

2) The truth of the cause of suffering

3) The truth of the end of suffering and

4) The truth of the path which take us away from this suffering and painful life.

But to touch this foundation the eight fold path is necessary to follow. And It has to trigger an inner realization.

We’ve answered 333,666 questions. We can answer yours, too.

Ask a question