Homework Help

In 1984, what are the four ministries and their purpose?

user profile pic

shecklerfan | Student, Grade 11 | eNotes Newbie

Posted March 29, 2010 at 8:54 AM via web

dislike 3 like

In 1984, what are the four ministries and their purpose?

3 Answers | Add Yours

user profile pic

mstultz72 | High School Teacher | (Level 1) Educator Emeritus

Posted March 29, 2010 at 9:06 AM (Answer #1)

dislike 3 like
  1. Miniluv: Ministry of Love (law and order)
  2. Minipax: Ministry of Peace (war)
  3. Miniplenty: Ministry of Plenty (rationing)
  4. Minitrue: Ministry of Truth (propaganda)

Each of the ministries does just the opposite of what it says, like the Ministry of Defense in the U.S. (it's really the Ministry of War).

The Ministry of Love tortures political prisoners.

The Ministry of Peace wages war.

The Ministry of Plenty controls and rations the food supply to keep people near starvation.

The Ministry of Truth (where Winston works) spreads lies (propaganda), and it censors all print media, revises history, and truncates the language with each edition of the Newspeak dictionary.

user profile pic

pohnpei397 | College Teacher | (Level 3) Distinguished Educator

Posted March 29, 2010 at 9:05 AM (Answer #2)

dislike 1 like

All of the ministries have very ironic names.

The Ministry of Truth is where Winston Smith works.  Their role is to change the past and to spread lies.  They are putting out what the Party says is true, but not what really is true.

The Ministry of Truth conducts wars.

The Ministry of Love is in charge of the police.  This includes things like the Thought Police.  As we see in the book, the police are brutal.

The Ministry of Plenty takes care of economic affairs.  This is an ironic name because pretty much everyone is poor.

user profile pic

parama9000 | Student, Grade 11 | (Level 1) Valedictorian

Posted February 24, 2014 at 10:37 AM (Answer #3)

dislike -1 like

Ministry of Truth




Join to answer this question

Join a community of thousands of dedicated teachers and students.

Join eNotes